About · Recognitions

Providing independent, credible and innovative solutions for sustainable supply chains

4C Certification System is widely recognized by actors from both inside and outside of the Coffee sector. Below you can find a few examples.


4C Code of Conduct is FSA-SAI Silver Level equivalent

The Sustainable Agriculture Initiative (SAI) Platform and 4C Services, the operator of the 4C Certification System, declared a joint conclusion of a benchmarking process where the 4C Code of Conduct achieved ‘Silver’ equivalence with SAI Platform’s Farm Sustainability Assessment (FSA). The Sustainable Agriculture Initiative (SAI) Platform is the primary global food & drink value chain initiative for sustainable agriculture. By facilitating the recognition of the standard at the level of different market actors with their varying social codes and expectations, the benchmark broadens market accessibility for 4C Certification System operations.

Equivalence with GCP’s Baseline Common Code

The 4C Code of Conduct is recognized as equivalent to the Global Coffee Platform’s Baseline Common Code.

4C Code of Conduct in line with IEH’s Ethical Trade Principles

Following consultation with the Ethical Trading Initiative Norway (IEH), the 4C Code of Conduct is considered to be in line with IEH’s Ethical Trade Principles.

ITC’s Sustainability Map

Established in 1964, the International Trade Centre (ITC) is the joint agency of the World Trade Organization and the United Nations. ITC’s mission is to foster inclusive and sustainable economic development, and contribute to achieving the United Nations Global Goals for Sustainable Development. ITC works towards creating ‘trade impact for good’.

Under ITC, Trade for Sustainable Development (T4SD) is a partnership-based programme which helps businesses, regardless of their position in the value chain, chart their path to more sustainable trade by better understanding the sustainability initiatives landscape and to connect with business partners.

4C is listed under T4SD’s new platform, Sustainability Map, which integrates the already well-established tools such as Standards Map and SustainabilityXchange and which compares several sustainability standards.

Stiftung Warentest

Stiftung Warentest is a foundation. This reliable organization helps consumers by providing impartial and objective information based on the results of comparative investigations of goods and services.
Several coffee brands are frequently evaluated by Stiftung Warentest, including sustainability claims. 4C Certification System is referred in reports produced by Stiftung Warentest.

If you are interested in the recognition of other standards, schemes and system by 4C Services, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for further information.